Social Studies HELP!!!
" "

Default Social Studies HELP!!!

Im new to Time4. I have 2 8th graders and we are doing the 7th grade Social Studies on here. I'm having trouble with how many to do a week. I am trying to follow the detailed plan but a lesson and some of the worksheet load is extremely heavy. One lesson required a 5 paragraph in 1 day. Is this the work load pace that is normal?? Any help or tips is appreciated.

Administrator hearthstone_academy's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Social Studies HELP!!!

Hi.

With 173 activities, your student can do less than one per day and finish the seventh grade social studies curriculum during a traditional 180-day school year. Some of those activities include optional printable worksheets.

I have felt the online lesson activities provide a more-than-adequate overview of American history, so we don't typically use the worksheets at all. I look them over and we discuss anything I feel might need reinforcement. Traditionally, students have been given essays to write because it's impractical for a classroom teacher to hold a discussion with each student individually. As a homeschool mom, I can readily talk with my student.

I prefer to leave most of the writing assignments for English class and discuss things on the worksheets with my kids instead. One advantage of this is that students only have to concentrate on expressing what they think or understand when they are talking to you about it. They do not also have to also take care with writing it down properly, so it's actually a more effective way of learning or demonstrating what they know that a writing assignment.