Parent Community & Forum

Parents! Chat about kids, education, parenting, homeschooling and more.

Junior Member Newbie

Default Homeschooling several different ages... need advice.

Hi there... we are super new in the homeschooling world. I am curious about families that have kids of different ages homeschooling. How do you organize your day? We use time4learning for our main curriculum and workbooks too. Right now I am running between 3 computers working with my three. I am wondering if I need to work with my kids one at a time. We have just been homeschooling for 3 weeks now and I am still working out what will work best for our family. Anyone have any advice for me. I guess my main worry is making sure each kid is absorbing what they need to learn.

By the way I have a daughter in 4th, a son is 2nd and a son in 1st. Thanks!

Jenny

Jenny, I am new to T4L but have been H/S my kids for a while I can tell you what works best for me. I have 6 but only 4 are at schooling age. I figure out what child needs the most help, can one of the older ones help a younger one? For example can your daughter help your youngest son while you work with your other son? I am also open to working for smaller chunks of time but have to work an extra day. hope this helps you a little

For our two kids what I do is get my oldest started (she is in 3rd grade), while she is doing her lessons I get my youngest( he is just shy of 4yrs) started. For him unless its something fun like painting or matching I am with him helping all the way. After I am done which ususally only 1/2-1 hr with him I go and review what my daughter has done so far. I ask if she understood it all, if I notice a low grade or she says she had trouble understanding I will go thru her lesson again. If she is good I may assign more just depends.
    Pretty much I only sit ,help,step in ect with my daughter unless I feel the need or if she asks...with my son I always do..