Parent Community & Forum

Parents! Chat about kids, education, parenting, homeschooling and more.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Junior Member Newbie

Default Music Class? Help!

I am new to homeschool. I want to make sure my children have all the experiences they would receive from public school. I want to have music once a week but I'm not sure where to even start. I have music figured into our schedule but have nothing set up for it so we end up doing another activity in it's place. Any suggestions would help. Thank You

my children are enrolled in an online Band. It is called Mr Bandman.
    Stephony Harp

How old are they?

Relax about them having the experiences of public school. What you provide through homeschooling will be far richer. I promise.

You could learn the recorder together. You could make musical instruments from junk around your house. You could download some different genre's of music via itunes and do a little research on each one. You could check some books on different composers or musicians out from the library. You can go see an orchestra, a jazz band, a string quartet, a singing group etc etc etc in concert. Maybe your child is ready for piano or violin or something like that. You could have your children join a local children's choir. The possibilities are endless.

My daughter is in a community youth choir and takes weekly voice lessons. Most kids in schools play recorder around 5th grade. You could purchase a few and a songbook with instructions and learn together...

Junior Member Newbie

Stephony, I've never heard of that but, could you send me some information on this online Band or Bandman to my email address. It sounds something my children might be interested in.
    trevino.cecilia@yahoo.com
    I'm from Texas too. Uvalde county.

Thank you,

CeciliaT

Junior Member Newbie