Parent Community & Forum

Parents! Chat about kids, education, parenting, homeschooling and more.

Junior Member Newbie

Default Questions about Science and Social Studies Lessons

Hi,
    I'm new to homeschooling this year. I am schooling my 11yo son, who had ADHD and Asperger's syndrome. We started last week with T4L and am now going thru a trial and error process. I am wordering what some of you do as far as helping to retain info that has been learned, 3-4 lessons prior to taking a test. For instance, we plan on doing 4 SS lessons and 2 quizzes each week. If a chapter has 8 lessons, it will be two weeks before we get to the chaper test. What are you guys doing as far as reviewing after the lessons have been completed. I know I can preview the test, and create a study guide, but I don't want to spoon feed him the test answers. What can I do....HELP!!!

Blog Entries

My son is only 9. He was having a real problem retaining dates and things like that. So we made a time line for certain events. When he was learning about the different explorers and the areas they were moving in to we put that on a timeline. Then we made a new timeline for the next chapter. I let him refer to the timeline for the tests. I personally just don't think it's all that important that he know exactly what date a certain event happened on. He needs to know how to find that information should he ever need it. By wriitng it out on a timeline, he can see how the events all connected together. My daughter has her children take notes as they go along in the program. She also lets them refer to their notes during test time. I think by reading the material and writing out notes or writing out a timeline it helps them remember more of the information.
    Kathi Homeschooling Mama to Twelve year old Dakota

Quote Originally Posted by kbirden View Post