Parent Community & Forum

Parents! Chat about kids, education, parenting, homeschooling and more.

Default Will you watch my child - AGAIN!!

Does anyone else have a problem with people asking you to watch their children just because you're a stay-at-home-mom? As though you have nothing better to do! If you do, can you give me some advice on how to say "No" nicely. I always end up saying "Yes" just because I want to help out and feel bad saying no, but then have to readjust my schedule to accommodate them. This is my first year homeschooling because I worked full time in the past.

Also, any tips on keeping kids busy in the hot Arizona sun?

Are these other homeschoolers? I have a friend with a child the same age as mine who also homeschools, and we trade off on mid-week sleepover days - when she has them she teaches them both French, when I have them I teach them both art. For random friends whose kids are conventionally schooled, it can just be an honest "you're home and I'm working and school's out today" thing... I took my daughter's brownie troop leader's child one day when there was a teacher workday in our County (the parent is a high school teacher), and her daughter went on a field trip to the nature center with us that day.

Over the summer, though, I don't know anyone who would even consider trying to pass their child to me. Then again, I live in a neighborhood with mostly stay at home moms. If you are the only one nearby, then it would be helpful if you knew the schedules and locations of nearby day camps during summer break. Then you can say "No, I'm sorry I can't take little Susie, but the YMCA on Elm Street has a great summer program that runs 8 to 6 every day!"

JC