Arizona Education Code For Homeschooling
Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Wmoon's Avatar
    Wmoon is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    200

    Default Arizona Education Code For Homeschooling

    **This is not intended to be legal advice and is distributed for information purposes only.**

    Compulsory attendance

    Children who are between the ages of 6 and 16 years of age as of September 1. However, for children who have turned 6 before September 1st and who are under 8 years of age as of September 1, parents may notify the County School Superintendent (CSS) in writing that they don't wish to have their child in school at this time. After age 8, parents need to follow the Homeschooling law outlined below.

    Currently the Arizona Homeschooling law requires that:

    • Every child between the ages of six and sixteen years shall be provided instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science.
    • The person who has custody of the child shall choose a public, private or home school to provide instruction.
    • An affidavit of intent shall be filed within thirty days from the time the child begins to attend a home school and is not required thereafter unless the home school instruction is terminated and then resumed. The person who has custody of the child shall notify the county school superintendent within thirty days of the termination that the child is no longer being instructed at a home school.

    If the home school instruction is resumed, the person who has custody of the child shall file another affidavit of intent with the county school superintendent within thirty days.
    • For the purposes of the above, "home school" means a school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child or instruction provided in the child's home.
    • Homeschoolers should within thirty days after the home instruction begins, provide to the county school superintendent of the county in which the child resides:
      • A certified copy of the child's birth certificate, or other reliable proof of the child's identity and age.
    For further details regarding the current Arizona Homeschooling Law consult Education Codes :
    15-702, 15-745, 15-802, 15-802.01, 15-828, included on this page or at your local library, or contact:
    Maricopa County School Superintendent
    301 W Jefferson #660
    Phoenix, AZ 85003
    602-506-3866
    Last edited by Wmoon; 02-05-2010 at 01:21 PM.
    *~*Carol*~*
    The potential for happiness is all around you.
    You just have to dip a toe in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •