Certified Teacher to Homeschool
    kilad14 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Certified Teacher to Homeschool

I am a certified elementary teacher in California (with a New York State credential). I've been teaching at private schools in San Francisco for 8 years. I am considering changing careers, but before I do, I was wondering if credentialed teachers are allowed to homeschool children who are not their own. For example, if I have a friend who wants me to homeschool her child, would that be legal?

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi. Homeschool laws and teaching laws are completely separate. In homeschooling, the parent directs the student's education, regardless of whether they are teaching the child outright, utilizing an online curriculum like Time4Learning to help, or arranging for a tutor to help. The fact that you are a certified teacher would have no impact on whether you would legally be "allowed" to help a homeschool parent in most states, since that parent can choose anyone they like to assist. Your being a certified teacher might influence some parents to choose you over another person to help, however.