Homeschooling an autistic child
    nbelt001 Guest

Default Homeschooling an autistic child

Hi,

I am a tutor, homeschooling a child who is autistic. We are in transition in finding the right school for him. He is 9 years old, but is doing lower grade coursework (kinder/first grade). Do you know of any homeschool programs in California that are flexible and in which the curriculum can be tailored to the child’s needs? Very much appreciated.

Nancy.

smithcheryl Guest

A charter school is a really good idea since it's more tailored to the students needs and not the class as a whole. And then also do group learning and foster more creative thinking. The only down side is that there a challenge to get into. I'm here in CA in the east bay and I just found out that there is a specialneeds school here in Concord but you have to be referred there thru IEP so just takes research and persistence. Gotta bug the school district.

smithcheryl is offline Junior Member Newbie

maybe a charter homeschool? My son has aspergers so can understand

Unregistered Guest