New and I need help
    mrsrafferty is offline Junior Member Newbie

Question New and I need help

I'm new to homeschooling completely. I took my children out of public school this year and started homeschooling. I bought all kinds of curriculum books and signed up for T4L. My problem is I don't know how to teach my children. I can help them but I don't know where to start on teaching. I don't feel like I'm giving them that much work but I just don't know what to do. I don't want to put them back in school but I feel like I'm messing them up. Plus they feel so alienated with no friends I just feel like I'm at my wits end. Help me somebody. 

Hillary32 Guest

Default You're doing great!

This is my first year too! Have you joined a local group or co-op? Mine has all kinds of field trips and monthly support meetings. There is a great website called Heart of the Matter that has ideas and support. I worked in public education for 13 years and it takes much less time to instruct a class of 2 or 3 than it does a class of 30!! If you're done after a few hours, that's OK! My kids spend about two hours on T4L each day. I sit near them and do the activity with them if they need help. The program is doing most of the teaching. I'm just there for support. In the afternoons we do Unit Studies. Amanda Bennet has some easy ones that don't require any prep. I don't do much instruction during this time either - its more like we are learning about a subject together. You taught your kids how to tie their shoes, use the potty, make toast? Then you know how to teach Don't rush, enjoy this time with your family, its a gift!

FamilyofBurgs is offline Junior Member Newbie

Question Confused...