7th grade ???

Thread: 7th grade ???

Joyfulmomma is offline Junior Member

Default 7th grade ???

I'm new to Time4Learning. We tried out for a month back in 2011 and didn't like it but now my 11 year old has been using it for over a month and it is working really well. We plan to continue for next year, adding living history books to the Social Studies and Noeo Chemistry, and Quest Proverbs for Bible study. For those of you who have done the 7th grade did you find the literature to be appropriate? I'm a little concerned as the book Hush is intended for a highschool audience (as is Scarlet Pimpernel) and the subject matter to me is questionable. How much of Hush do the students actually read? I spoke with our local librarian who advised me to skip it and wait til she's in high school. Any thoughts? Has anyone actually read the book? Also, do you all feel Time 4 Learning with the above mentioned additions is enough for a complete 7th grade, especially in the language arts?

Thank you!
    Joyful Blessings,
    Pamela

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Pamela.
    Welcome back to Time4Learning. It's great that T4L is working well with your 7th grader.

I'm not familiar with the Noeo Chemistry you mention, but I would say that it's certainly not a bad idea to add science and history in the upper grades. And I believe living books is a fantastic way to do it for History. It sounds like you have enough for a complete 7th grade. It always depends on the student. If your son is an avid reader and you find he needs more, you can always add more books. My daughter is an avid reader. So there are times I've added books just for her pleasure. And there are other times we've done a book club with a study guide. I've used T4L as sole curriculum, but this year I added a few things.