Colorado requirements
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mom+2girls

Thread: Colorado requirements

avarnell07 Guest

Question Colorado requirements

We are moving to Ft. Carson in Sept. I've been homeschooling my daughter since April 2012. My question is this: Since we are using "time4learning" does that exempt us from testing in 3rd,5,7,9 grades? I guess i'm really asking does it fall under the independent school portion of the state laws. I'm very confused about Colorado's requirements at this time and I have read everything I could find. Texas there is no regulations so I have free range here.

Savrah1164 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Hi avarne1107, Colorado does have alot of requirements under the Homeschooling laws(which I would google them and read them all)I home schooled my son for the first two years using T4Ling under the basic homeschooling laws,he is a special needs student and didnt want him subjected to all the testing,It would have been just to much for him,so I found a way round the basic homeschooling laws.The laws for private schools are alot different. I have my child enrolled in a private school here in Colorado springs called Spiral Academy and you as the parent can chose what ever means of education you want.We still to this day use Time 4 Learning. Check out Spiral Academys web site to get more info. www.spiralacademy.com

Unregistered Guest

You don't have to do the testing, you can go the private evaluation route. I do it every time. Anyone that has a teaching license in Colorado can evaluate your child. Which usually consists of you sending them some work samples and they may or may not even meet you. Then they send a letter to the district saying that your child is progressing based on his/her ability. There are a lot of people who offer this service to homeschoolers and are understanding about the general uneasiness homeschoolers feel about testing.

Cheryl

Mom+2girls is offline Junior Member Newbie

Hi,