I am in Saint Petersburg and this is my 9yr old daughters first week with time4learni

Cool I am in Saint Petersburg and this is my 9yr old daughters first week with time4learni

Hi My name is Janice and I live in Saint Petersburg. I have one son in college but I also have a 9yr old daughter who I just pulled out of the Pinellas county school system. Boy, they gave me a hard time about it too! I guess they don't like the smart ones to leave. Was wondering if anyone was in this area who could give me some pointers, etc. as I am new to this whole homeschooling thing. Time4learning was highly recommended to me though.

Backtable is offline Junior Member Newbie

Hi Janice, my wife and I have two children in T4L, grades 8 & 9, who have used the program for the past 3 years. This year we did something a little different, we enrolled them in an "umbrella" school (Allendale Academy in Clearwater) as it officially changed their status from 'homeschool' to 'private school.'

We did this as it streamlined a lot of the reporting requirements. Private school registration removes much of the onerous county requirements for annual reporting by the homeschool parent. Allendale, for example, is registerd with the state as a private school, so they handle the attendance records and annual testing record requirements, and you are not required to tell the county anything other than your child is enrolled in a state-registered private school.

We get nothing for mentioning the school (Allendale Academy), also on Facebook at, ( http://www.facebook.com/pages/Allend...94988670560847) but have found that by utilizing it our lives have become a lot easier and less stressful as far as meeting 'homeschool' record requirements.