worried about overwhelming my 4th grader
    HsMomma2four is offline Junior Member

Default worried about overwhelming my 4th grader

I used Monarch for the 2nd half of my son's 3rd grade year after pulling him out of public school. He wasn't overly fond of the program nor how slow it ran, so this year we decided to give T4L a try since he responds to an online curriculum better than the traditional textbooks. I'm trying to make our routine go as smoothly as possible in advance (we start in about a week) since I'm still pretty new to homeschooling and I'll also be using traditional textbooks to homeschool my kindergartner and preschooler this year. That being said I am worried I am going to be overwhelming my 4th grader with math and language arts and would like the opinions of other homeschooling parents.

My son did not respond well to the common core math in public school (Monarch did not use CC) and would get frustrated with how many steps he had to take to solve simple problems. I did not realize that T4L used common core and now I'm trying to decide if it would be best to just let him do it and see how he does with it or have him do Khan Academy for math and the rest on T4L.

As far as Language goes, this is where my biggest concern lies. He is an AVID reader and always has a book in his hands. However, he will do anything he can to get out of having to do any creative writing and really struggles with it. He will be taking 2 once a week classes through our homeschool co-op. One is a creative writing class(in hopes of getting him to enjoy creative writing) and the other is a reading comprehension class where they will be reading the classics and other novels and then writing reviews on them. I have him scheduled to do both the LA program and the LA Ext program. Is that too much to do in one semester? Should I just have him do the LA program and just not schedule the Ext program?

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hey, HSMomma2four!