Assessment Tests
    ameede is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Assessment Tests

Hello Everyone,

I just started homeschooling my son whom is in 8th grade, and I live in Northern Virginia, my concern at this time is that I have to surrender a progress report/assessment document to the Prince William County School Superintendent by August 1st. Consequently, I have been looking for tests that my son can take that best fits with the curriculum laid out here on the Time4Learning website. I understand that I might have the option of turning in a "Portfolio" for assessing my son's accomplishments but I don't believe that the school district will accept this, so I'm asking if anyone has had any experience in trying to hunt down an assessment test that corresponds with Time4Learning curriculum. I have my Masters degree and my wife has her Ph.D so turning in a document can be from the two of us, however I know that we will need to back up our summaries of our son's education with some hard data, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time, earl ehrig

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Earl. Welcome to the forum.

I took a look at Virginia's homeschool laws. I'm confused as to why the school superintendent is asking you for a progress report at this time. It isn't unusual for a school district to request documentation not required by law, especially if the student was previously in the public schools. You can politely decline to provide anything not required by your state's homeschooling statutes.

If you do eventually choose the test option, any standardized test is acceptable in Virginia (CAT, Iowa, etc.). The test does not have to be approved ahead of time by anyone in the school district. Virginia is fairly unique in that they don't require a neutral party to administer the test, nor do they require that the administrator have any particular set of qualifications.