Courses of Study...
    kloving70 is offline Junior Member

Question Courses of Study...

I am new to homeschooling...have just began the process of investigating the possibility...

My question is how do you decide what to teach - courses anyway...

For example T4L teaches LA, reading, science, social studies and math...I can also do spelling and writing.

How do you know what to teach...

What about art, music, PE, computer skills, library/research skills, organization and time management (imperative for mom of ADHD child), Spanish, geography, journaling?

How much is too much? How much is not enough?

LOL - this can be quite overwhelming. I am glad I have a few months to figure it out.

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

You don't say how old your child is so it is hard to say what they need to study. Iowa law does not specify which subjects need to be taught. But most states require Language, Math, Social Studies, Science, State History, and PE. Time4Learning does include history in the social studies curriculum, but you would have to add something for your state history. This depends on the age of your child. I would discuss this with your supervising teacher. You might want to check out the Iowa Parent Forum. You will meet others from your state who can help you with all the ins and outs of state law. Connect with a good homeschool support group in your area. They will be able to help you navigate the waters of homeschooling.
    Kathi Homeschooling Mama to Twelve year old Dakota

Thanks Kathi - and my daughter is 8.

Thanks Kathi - I don't even have a supervising teacher yet LOL Still very new. My daughter is finishing 2nd grade in public school and then we are going to begin homeschool in Fall 2012 with 3rd grade. I am so new and having difficulty finding a support group in my area.

Unfortunately the Iowa forum is very slow except for me and the moderator LOL

Blog Entries