Help going back to public school
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By apatraw1980

Thread: Help going back to public school

Christina7278 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Help going back to public school

Hello! I was hoping someone could help me. I've been homeschooling for 2 years & I went to the school board today to enroll my boys back into public school. They told me my oldest (who is going into 11th grade) will have to take 18 proficiency tests. Has anyone had experience with these & what they entail? Any help is appreciated!

hearthstone_academy is online now Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Christina. My kids have been homeschooled straight through high school, so I don't have any experience to offer you about returning to public high school. I do know that schools vary in their willingness to accept homeschool work for credit, and there are no laws saying what they must or can't accept.

You might want to explore Let's Homeschool High School.com. It's the best place I know of to find information about everything having to do with homeschooling and high school students.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

apatraw1980 is offline Junior Member

We live in Tennessee and my kids will have to take a test to enroll in public school. It is typically the state's standardized tests. Ours is called TCAPs. It is mostly just to find out what the student's grade level is. When i sent my daughter back to public school last year, she had to take the TCAP for grade placement. She was put in her normal grade and AP classes. I will be sending both of my children back to public school for the 2017/2018 school year.
    We follow the core standards listed on the tn.gov/edu website to make sure we are learning everything that could be on the tests.
    You can check out your state government education page to find out more about the tests.
    bailbrae likes this.

pj54669 is offline Junior Member Newbie