Help, I need advice.
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By lovehmschlg
  • 1 Post By Strouse House

Thread: Help, I need advice.

Armymama4 is offline Junior Member

Default Help, I need advice.

Hello everyone, I have been homeschooling my son for about 3 years now. I feel like we have lost motivation in learning, also I am having a hard time finding group activities in the area for my son; he is 15. I found a couple of groups but they want a membership fee (example $150- $200 per year). I am not really wanting to participate in group learning time just the activities and the ability for my son to meet kids his age and make friends. He has become so sad and depressed because he doesn't have friends that he no longer wants to do school work. What can I do? I don't drive much because of health conditions.

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Armymama4,

I'm sorry. It sounds like you need a spark or a little bit of a change in your daily routine. How about setting up some field trips, either with a homeschool support group or just the two of you. Depending on the homeschooling community, it can get harder or easier as the kids get older.

What part of Florida are you in? I know some families in the Orlando and Tampa area, and they're very active. We're in South Florida, and the homeschooling community is very large and active here, too. Have you looked around for a homeschool support group in your area?

One of our homeschool support groups is big because they have a drama club, which attracts a lot of the teenagers. They also have a yearbook club, and the teens are the ones who take pictures at the events and put the yearbook together, with a little help from parents.