Help for literature study in grade 3?
    brill is offline Member

Default Help for literature study in grade 3?

hi,
    I am a homeschool mom of two kids 8 and 9 years.I have been homeschooling my kids since 5 years.I want to get Language Arts grade 3 and onwards curriculum.
    In Literature I don't know which curriculum ,novels for grade 3 and onwards?
    How many novels should he study in grade 3?Which story books for and novels grade 2 and onwards?no worksheets on t4l language arts lesson?Is spelling list on t4l are enough for each grade ?any free site for study guides of novels?
    If you kindly guide me which curriculum you are using with your 3rd grader or older(if you have in those grades)?and how to select reading books for each grade?How I could test their understanding of stories/novels as I am a non native speaker?
    How many hours do you give to each of your child?How many subjects do you have?
    Hope you will tell me about your experience .
    Waiting for your prompt reply.

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

If you look at the grade three lesson plans for Language Arts Extensions you will find a reading list that goes along with those lessons. There are worksheets in both Language Arts and Language Arts Extensions for grade three. I think a child should read as many books as they want to in each grade. I don't think there is a specific number of books that are required. Usually 15 to 30 minutes per day of reading time is good for a child. I don't think it is necessary to write book reports or things like that. But that is just my opinion. I like to ask questions like, "What happened in the story" or "Tell me about this book." "What did you like best about it." That way you can tell if they actually read the book and understand what it is about. As far as spelling, have you tried Spelling City. It is a great way to add to the spelling work that you do.