How long to get into a routine?
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Mandy in TN
  • 1 Post By Mandy in TN

Thread: How long to get into a routine?

Amber Cross is offline Member

Default How long to get into a routine?

Ok I am new to homeschooling my 3 and 5yr.old daughters for a bout a month now. How long does it take to get used to things and get into a routine?

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

With kids as young as yours it could take a while. Three year olds are so different every day. If you are consistent you should be able to settle into somewhat of a routine in two or three months. You have to really be consistent but also a bit flexible for the little ones. Have you tried starting with a morning circle and building your day from there?
    Kathi Homeschooling Mama to Twelve year old Dakota

Amber Cross is offline Member

No. What ideas do you have for a morning circle?

Blog Entries

Look into some of the Waldorf traditions. They talk a lot about the cycles of the day. Starting with a morning circle to bring the day together. Sometimes lighting a candle to begin the day. Singing simple songs, especially songs with hand motions. Then moving through the rhythm of the day. look at some of the Waldorf sites. Try A Little Flower Garden. They may give you some good ideas. They are geared toward younger children.

Mandy in TN is offline Senior Member

Quote Originally Posted by Amber Cross View Post
    Ok I am new to homeschooling my 3 and 5yr.old daughters for a bout a month now. How long does it take to get used to things and get into a routine?
    This is very dependent upon the personalities of the little people, your consistency, and your expectations.