New to Homeschooling, advice?
    Hailee'sMom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Question New to Homeschooling, advice?

Hello all,
    I enrolled my 5 year old daughter into this program a few weeks ago. She absolutely loves it and always wants to do more. However, I am new to homeschooling and I want to make sure that I'm giving my daughter the most out of this program. Do any of you have advice? Also, if anyone has any suggestions on ways to help a kindergartner learn how to write please let me know. Lastly, I would like to know if any of you have found any useful resource sites that I could download and print out things for her to do. I would really like to have more hands on work for her to do.

Sorry for all of the questions in one thread, but I figured this was the best place to find answers.

If any of you are(or have been) homeschooling your kindergartner I would love to speak with you. Anyone who home schooled their children at one point and later placed them in a public school, I would love to speak with you as well.

Thanks so much and I hope to hear back from some of you soon,
    Amanda.

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum Amanda. I'm so glad your daughter likes the program. We have been using time4learning for over 5 years now and still love it. We used the Kumon workbooks for practice in handwriting when my son was that age. They helped a lot. You can usually get them at your local bookstore. Sometimes even the grocery store and I know stores like Target have many workbooks available. You can also use some of the free online learning sites like learninggamesforkids.com or starfall.com to add to your child's learning experience. My favorite thing is to read. Read to your daughter. Give her access to picture books that she can read to you. (Actually let her tell you the story about the pictures.) Let her see you reading. You would be amazed at how this simple thing can encourage your child to read.