New to Homeschooling - A Few Questions
    HDavison is offline Junior Member

Default New to Homeschooling - A Few Questions

I am new to homeschooling (just signed my boys up officially about 15 minutes ago) and I had a few basic (probably answered before) questions:

1. How do you structure your day? Do you follow a schedule (i.e. math at a certain time, lunch at a certain time, etc)

2. Do you work in a separate room in your house, or in a common living area? (i.e. personal "classroom" or the dining room)

3. Did you purchase specific materials/supplies/furniture for your homeschool, or just work with what you had at home already?

I am searching the Internet for items that could help me organize everything and keep tabs on all their lessons & work. (I have a vindictive ex, whom I *know* will cause problems for me homeschooling once he founds out I have pulled our son from public schools) I'm just wondering if anyone with homeschooling experience could share their infinite wisdom with a newbie like me.

Thanks everyone!

Mandy in TN is offline Senior Member

1. How do you structure your day? Do you follow a schedule (i.e. math at a certain time, lunch at a certain time, etc) This year we have different things going on at different times everyday, so our activities dictate our schedule.

2. Do you work in a separate room in your house, or in a common living area? (i.e. personal "classroom" or the dining room) We school wherever we want- dining room, living room, hearth room, game room, the bed, the car, the deck, the loft house on the swing set, the park, etc.

3. Did you purchase specific materials/supplies/furniture for your homeschool, or just work with what you had at home already? When I first started home schooling I probably purchased some materials and supplies, but not much. I already had art supplies, pencils, and paper. I never purchased any furniture specifically with home education in mind.