New to Homeschooling and T4L- Need help determing starting point for 6th grader
Like Tree8Likes
  • 2 Post By fairylover
  • 2 Post By Mandy in TN
  • 2 Post By Mandy in TN
  • 2 Post By Mandy in TN

Thread: New to Homeschooling and T4L- Need help determing starting point for 6th grader

Ttownyvonne is offline Junior Member

Default New to Homeschooling and T4L- Need help determing starting point for 6th grader

Hi everyone! I am new to homeschooling; never thought I would be here, but here I am! I am an almost 49 year old single mom with 2 daughters; 24 and 11 and I am also a fulltime college student pursuing my BSW. My 11 year old has Juvenile Arthritis, Uveitis and some psychological issues. She goes to the doctor a lot and had to miss a lot of school so I decided to homeschool her and lessen the trauma of her having to deal with public school and people not understanding her; not to mention all the bullying she has gone through. With that said, I need to know how to determine a starting point for my daughter since she was in public school the first half of 6th grade. I want to be finished by early June and when I submitted the info on T4L, I wasn't aware they would start it out from the beginning. I did email them and they suggested for her to take the quizzes/tests to determine a starting point. So, do I start with the first chapter of tests from each subject and we do that first or what? I am overwhelmed more than I thought I would be about doing this. I would appreciate any help/advice anyone has to offer. I look forward to inner acting with everyone. By the way we are from a small town in eastern NC; Tarboro. Thanks to all!

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

First let me say that I am so sorry your daughter is struggling with all these issues. I have arthritus myself so I know how painful it can be. Second I want to say welcome to the wonderful world of homeschooling. It is an exciting journey.