New to T4L...

Thread: New to T4L...

Smile New to T4L...

Hello. My name is Nora. I am a full time RN with two girls, ages 8 & 10 (2nd and 4th grades). We live in Naples, Florida, which is down in the swampiest part of the swamp state (aka: The Sunshine State).

I was a teacher before I changed professions. I always believed in the public school system and supported it whole-heartedly for many years, but this year things changed. In Florida the schools are given a "grade" (A, B, C, D, F) based strictly on student performance on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). And we live in the second best county school district in the state. Most of our schools are graded as a A-C...with the majority of them being a B. Well, up until this year we lived in a lower-income school zone, and most of the children had a language barrier at home (with Spanish being the predominent language spoken at home). The children mostly passed the FCAT, but the school has been consistently graded at a C since the grading began in 2001. We enjoyed that school though. All of the teachers were very invested in their students well-being. They were all willing to work with the parents on what works best for the student both in and out of the classroom. We have had amazing luck with wonderful teachers and our girls being able to overcome different challenges along the way. And then last summer we moved. We moved to a nicer area of town and the kids moved into an A school zone. We were very excited that they offered so many new and exciting opportunities to our girls. Things were going well with our 2nd grader. We didn't really have any issues with her once she got settled in. I did feel that the teacher could have done a little more educating and a little less "classroom management", but hey, it wasn't the worst I have seen. Our 4th grader...well, that was a different story. This school used "team teaching". She had a primary homeroom teacher who was responsible for her reading and writi