Questions!

Thread: Questions!

ChanH is offline Junior Member

Default Questions!

I am very new to homeschooling. I have a 3 year old and I need some help on where to get started and tips on how to shake it up and make things interresting. I need things I can make that don't cost very much.

Phonics, Reading, and Literature: For this we are currently reading the Teach your Child to read in 100 easy lessons. What kind of games can I add to supplement this. I have a very wiggly 3 year old and for everything except T4L sitting still for more than 3 mins is a challenge.

Math: I have a basic bored and I right 4 numbers on it and ask him to point to one ( I got the idea from T4L). Everytime he picks a number we draw dots and count them to see if he picked the correct number. But, it seems like he's just picking random numbers because even if we have just done the number he will pick 2 wrong numbers before the right one. Are there any games or songs I can sing?

History, Geography, Cultural Studies: How on earth do I make a 3year old care about historty? For this I was thinking maybe we would do a story time with a interresting history story, but I don't know of any that would be of interrest to a 3 year old. For Geography I'm thinking I can have him color the state of Texas, bake Texas shaped cookies etc. And for Curltural Studies I have a book of old African stories for kids so we may do that but if anyone else has any ideas that they would be willing to share I'd be open. Now that I'm writing this mabe we can play dress up and read a story about that culture.

Science: I KNOW that this would be fun for him. HELLO! Making things explode? Mess, Chaos? My son is so there. But if anyone knows of any books or websites for his age that would be VERY helpful.

Thanks in advance!

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries