Two questions for homeschooling in Florida....LONG
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    aprilnfla is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Two questions for homeschooling in Florida....LONG

Hello all,

I am very new to homeschooling and find myself lost most of the time while homeschooling my 3rd grader.

I read the packet that the Flager School District gave me to homeschool my son, but it doesn't say if there are a certain amount of hours required per day.

He normally does about 30-45 mins a day of reading, 2 math sections in the time4learning, 2 language arts sections and either a science or something fun around the house with me and my 4-year-old. Being a personal trainer I also have him engage in some type of physical education with me about 3+ days a week and I am not sure if this is required or not, but I'm keeping track of it still just in case.

Does this seem like enough work daily? I am keeping a portfolio on him by the week as well. He has only been homeschooled now for going on a week. I do have him doing handwriting as well starting this week.

He's behind his 3rd grade class because of an out of state move (being the reason for homeschooling), so he's working through Christmas vacation and over the summer to be on track for the 4th grade.

Okay, my second question is does he need to take the FCAT testing? I have heard nothing from the school about that and can't find anything on that either. I am assuming that he does, but I suppose I would take him to the nearest school the day of testing? Thanks so much for any input!

April

I meant I've been homeschooling him for going on 2 weeks - (had a 4-y/o talking to me while posting)! LOL

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, April. Have you seen this yet?

Several members of this board homeschool in Florida. Hopefully some of them will be along to help you out.