2nd grader, what do you do for spelling??? Suggestions Please.
    Momof2inNC is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default 2nd grader, what do you do for spelling??? Suggestions Please.

I'm totally new to T4L, what do people do for Spelling? I have thought of testing her over the words and rules that have been taught in Language. Any suggestions

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi. Welcome! Here is some great info about spelling with Time4Learning!

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

Spellingcity.com is what I will be using this year. It's free or you can pay $30 for the premium edition and have more options.

kins87 is offline Junior Member

Lately I discovered a game. You have to build words that include three or four letters which you find on red cards. You play against the clock - so I played it with my little boy several times and I think it is a very good practise for spelling.

xmom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by Momof2inNC View Post
    I'm totally new to T4L, what do people do for Spelling? I have thought of testing her over the words and rules that have been taught in Language. Any suggestions
    I started homeschooling my son last year, half-way through 1st grade. He can read on a third grade level..but gets very lazy about spelling - so it was important to me to give him a little structure in spelling. I hope it's okay to post this, but one site, k12reader .com has weekly spelling lists, organized by grade levels. I usually just print out the weekly list on Monday, have him review/write it every day, then we "test" on Friday.

Also, I don't know if you have any good thrift stores where you live, but I've found a treasure trove of text books (some specifically spelling) for super cheap .

We're loving T4 - I also tried the link above for the T4L spelling information, and got the same message mentioned above.