How do you schedule your child's day?
    sojourne is offline Junior Member

Default How do you schedule your child's day?

I have two kids in this age level. One is in 1st and the other is in 3rd grade. I am new to home schooling and am trying to figure out how to schedule the kids days so they can get their work done but not be burned out.
    How do you schedule your day so that your kids can get their work done, plus have special activities?
    TIA

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

One way to see how many lessons you should do each day is to add up all the lessons in the lesson plans, then divide this number by the number of days you plan on having school. This will tell you how many lessons to do each day so you can finish by the end of your school year. My 4th grader spends between two to three hours each day total, with breaks in between lessons.
    Of course you also want the flexibility to add field trips, co-op classes, homeschool events or activities with a support group, appointments or errands. Life happens sometimes, so there may be a day you won't do 'school' at all. So I use this schedule only as a guide.
    We're not early risers. When we wake up, we have breakfast, clean up after breakfast, make our beds. Then we read our bible and pray. Then we start our work (about 2 hours). Then have a snack or lunch. Do some reading or watchc an educational movie/documentary. Back to some school work. Copy work/dictation. Free time. Sometimes we'll add some worksheets in between. It varies from day to day. Wednesdays we're out most of the day with speech and physical therapy. We also go to the library on Wednesdays. Fridays we go to our homeschool P.E. for half a day.

I hope that helps some.
    Janet
    enjoying homeschooling and learning with my kids, using T4L and T4W
    blogging our homeschool experiences at The Learning Hourglass

monnalu is offline Member