How long does your kiddo do school per day?
    LaceyN is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default How long does your kiddo do school per day?

I'm new to T4L, but not new to homeschooling. I'm just wondering about how long it takes for your kiddos to finish a day's schoolwork using T4L. We are switching from using all sorts of different curriculum to just T4L, and I'd like to get an idea of how long I can expect my kids to spend on school each day using T4L.

Can you tell me what grade level your child is using, how many subjects they are using and about how long it takes them a day to finish their work?

Thanks so much!

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Lacey, it depends a lot on the child. In the lower grades, my kids would blast through everything I assigned them in an hour or two per day . . . unless there was a "writing" assignment! The lower grade students are given open-ended assignments using Story Creator. Some kids slap out a "story" in a few seconds flat. Others write and re-write, enjoying the process.

I wouldn't expect a kindergartner to be doing online lessons for more than about an hour a day. Preschoolers spend less time. First through third . . . maybe a couple of hours. Older kids . . . no more than four. It will vary greatly, depending on whether there is a science experiment, test and no lesson, worksheet to go along with the lesson, and so forth. Your student should also have offline activities, such as music, arts and crafts, P.E., free reading, etc.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

JBevard is offline Junior Member