HS with my ASD son - new to this
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By KLD99

Thread: HS with my ASD son - new to this

JustanotherLEOW is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default HS with my ASD son - new to this

SO I am new to the HS and very nervous. He struggles so much and we have tried public school in different set ups and also private school for a year and nothing seems to work for him. So we have decided to move to homeschooling with him. We have played with time 4 learning a few days while we have been home "sick" and it seems to work really well with his visual learning. He is 9 years old but still on K and 1st grade level. He has done really well in areas he normally would struggle in so I am holding on to hope that this will work for him. My biggest thing is keeping him tuned in to the program and not other things around the house. Can anyone give me some advice on ASD and SPD kids and home schooling? when he is asking for breaks do I let him have them I don't want to wear him out and he not be absorbing the information but I also don't want him to think he can do what he wants when he wants to do it.

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

First let me say welcome to the forums and to homeschooling.

My son did not have a diagnosis or anything like that because I never had him tested. However he has an extremely short attention span. For him, I have him work a little while and then take a break and do something active or eat a small snack. He would run around the house or take his bike to the corner and back. Something short. Then he was able to focus for another short period of time. He needed the breaks in between the school work. You might want to set a timer so he knows exactly how long the break will be. I have found that too long of a break can make it hard to get back to work.