Kindergarten Math Question
    OrlandoMom is offline Junior Member

Talking Kindergarten Math Question

Hi! I am new to T4L, so far we really love it! I started my kindergartener on kindergarten math and science and 1st grade language arts because he can read. He really seems to be blowing right through the math and I was wondering if I should bump him up to 1st grade math? He can count to 100 without missing a beat, and can do very basic single addition and subtraction.

So far with the kindergarten math I am finding it to be which one is different or the same and patterns. I imagine it grow a bit more challenging as time goes on so I am not sure if I should bump him up or not. Can someone give me some insight on what the 1st grade math is like?

Thanks!

NikkiHughes is offline Junior Member Newbie

When you go into the Math subject Icon once your son is logged into his account.. then for each lesson within the subject there should be the option to select K or 1 (in the lesson itself.) So since you feel he is advanced I would just try that first and then see how he does with that? Hope this makes sense!

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

I would go through and let him take the chapter tests. If he passes all of the tests then go ahead and bump him up a grade level. If he doesn't do so well on a particular chapter you can stop and review it and let him test again.
    Kathi Homeschooling Mama to Twelve year old Dakota

OrlandoMom is offline Junior Member

Quote Originally Posted by NikkiHughes View Post
    When you go into the Math subject Icon once your son is logged into his account.. then for each lesson within the subject there should be the option to select K or 1 (in the lesson itself.) So since you feel he is advanced I would just try that first and then see how he does with that? Hope this makes sense!