New here, need a little advice!
    MamaTeacher22 is offline Junior Member

Default New here, need a little advice!

Hi everyone! I'm brand new to this forum, but from what I've seen so far it seems like a very friendly and helpful place--I wish I'd joined a long time ago!

I need a little advice. I've been homeschooling my daughter (7) for three years now, but just began officially homeschooling through the State this August. I wasn't aware that I could use the private school option, so I applied and was accepted for the Home Study Program. Things are going really well, and I love homeschooling. I also homeschool my just-turned-5 year old son, but he receives Speech Therapy through the public school here in Red River Parish. I am (or was) a certified teacher for grades 1-6, but I'm sure my certification has expired by now. I quit teaching when I was pregnant with my daughter, and with where we live, homeschooling has absolutely been the best option for us.

My question is this--would it be possible at this point (mid-January) to send in a certified letter stating that I'm a private school and therefore opting out of the Home Study program? Nothing would change in my own curriculum, of course, but from what I've read here it's much easier to use the private school option. I know that I don't have to do anything for my son until he's 7, so I'm not concerned about that at this point.

I know that the letter should contain the "name" of my school, the number of children enrolled (so just 1, for now), and that we'll be operating for 180 days. (We do school pretty much year round.) If I am able to declare myself as having a private school, do all the days I've been schooling since August 2012 count for that? Would it be easier to just wait until August 2013 and send in the required documentation and then send the letter for the private school option? I'm a little confused, and would greatly appreciate any advice y'all are willing to share!