end of year testing?
    kellismith41 is offline Junior Member

Default end of year testing?

Hello, This is my first year of Homeschooling my step son.I cant seam to find the answer to the question i have..called everyone in the public school systam, but no one had a answer for me..so i figured i would try here..Is there any testing or anything that has to be done at the end of the year, or anything that has to be handed in to the school distrect??All i can find is that he has to do 175 days and send in the papers at the start if the year that says we will be homeschooling ,which we did? Thank you
    Kelli & Jeff & Jeffrey

topsytechie is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

It looks like under the Maine Home School Laws that it totally depends on which option you chose to homeschool under. Check out the explanation under the "Standardized Testing" section of this breakdown by the HSLDA: http://www.hslda.org/laws/analysis/Maine.pdf

rumbledolly is offline Junior Member Newbie

In ME you have to do either standardized testing or a portfolio. This is our first year and we're opting to do the testing. Especially since we really only did a half year at home I couldn't see doing a portfolio which would technically be incomplete. There are a lot of sites with info on testing. I plan on using Seton Testing Services and am actually going to order the CAT next week so we'll have it for June.
    HS Mom to Jack (DD Age 11), Blogger, Customer Service & Front of House Consultant, juggler of sharp objects, and beach lover.

I've never let my schooling get in the way of my education.
    Mark Twain

Me fail English? That's unpossible!
    Ralph (The Simpson's)

Unregistered Guest

Cool testing in Maine?