Cover (Umbrella) schools
    nanaringo is offline Member

Default Cover (Umbrella) schools

Do any other T4L members use a cover/umbrella school? (I am especially interested in other Florida members using cover schools. ) If so, would you please share your experience, ie., have you had any problems with Dept of Education or county school board accepting Private School status (vs. homeschool status with all the corresponding state requirements for testing, evaluations, portfolios, etc)? I am using a cover school, but as I am new to this, I just want to know what to expect.
    Nanaringo

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Click here for information about umbrella schools from Time4Learning.

Click here for a previous thread about umbrella schools.

And, hopefully some who are actually using an umbrella school will add some thoughts here.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

Thanks, Kelly ... I read the previous thread and it was helpful to a point. The cover school I am using is only $15 per year. Their only requirements for annul registration are a copy of school physical and immunization record, and regular attendance reporting. Everything else is up to me.

I have verified that this cover school is registered with the Dept of Education as a "non-public school". I guess I am just leery of anything that is so inexpensive, yet seems to fit our needs so well. I just don't want anyone coming to my door in the future and telling me I have broken the law, or worse yet, telling me I have to place Jennifer back into the public school system (shudder).