Help!!!

Thread: Help!!!

beulahbreath is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Help!!!

Hi, I am new to homeschooling and time4learning. Therefore please overlook any duplicated questions because it really is taking me awhile to find my way around!!! I am having trouble finding out how to plan my daughters' work each day to make sure that she spans it out over 180 days. I have read on the forums the way that Kelly explained about the lesson plans and dividing the number of lessons by the 180 days...but it is just not computing!!! I think I am sooo overwhelmed and this is so new...I am afraid I will do something wrong. We are starting out slowly and would like to gradually build up to more lessons each day. Please help me understand how to make sure she is doing grade level amounts of work...I realize that we can slow down if necessary...maybe this makes sense!!!! Any help is MOST appreciated!! Have a blessed day

Jan

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Jan. Welcome to the board. Here's my pep talk for new home schoolers :

Don't be afraid you'll do something wrong. My personal opinion is that it's usually better to start somewhat slowly and then add more as you and your student become accustomed to home schooling.

It's better for her to cover a little bit of material and really understand it than to proceed too quickly, "finish" a year's worth of work, but not retain what she has learned.

Keep in mind that schools all have their own ideas about what should be covered and when. Although there may be similarities, there is no universal course of study. The best schedule is the one that works for you and your daughter.

That said . . . most parents hope their students will complete a grade level per school year in most subjects. Is your daughter doing all four subjects? What grade levels? I can try to give you some specific suggestions, but they will only be suggestions to use as a starting point.