I'm new to this curriculum, help!
    taribari is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default I'm new to this curriculum, help!

Hi, I am a homeschool mom from Georgia. I have two boys 9 & 11. I have used Abeka curriculum for the last two years and am trying something different next year. Today was the first day of the 1 month free trial and I want to know if anyone else had the same kind of experience as I did today, and if you did are you still using T4L...I guess my kids are used to having me go over everything with them, but they just couldn't seem to comprehend enough reading to do well on the quizzes. I had to go through the process of the lesson sitting next to them to make sure they were reading in a way that gave them an understanding of the lesson. They both skipped right past the "Notebook" part of the lesson until I realized what they did and corrected them. We were all a little frustrated with the amount of time we ended up spending just on language and math after having done the subjects twice for each kid
    I know that I need to review the scope and sequence and the lesson plans, but I just wanted to throw it out to the boys to see if they enjoyed it. I'm just frustrated because I will have to network two computers in my house to do this and I just don't know if I want to go to the expense if it doesn't get better.

Help!

twinmami01 is offline Junior Member Newbie

I was frustrated at first as well, but after a few days, they felt confident to do it on their own. i believe its just new to them and I had to sit it out with them. They too had to do it several times to get an acceptable grade. We've been using it for about a month now. My boys are 7, but after a while they are able to do it on their own. I am closeby to help them out when they need me to repeat the directions or reword them.

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi. Welcome!