Introducing myself...brand new and excited!
    jskisses is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Introducing myself...brand new and excited!

Hello!

I just registered my 9.5 yo for T4L today and he will be attending his last day of public school this Thursday! After realizing that school is not a good fit for him and them fighting on offering him even the slightest accomodations, I'm taking things into my own hands.

J is 9.5 and currently in 4th grade. He's a bright kid and loves to learn but has a few hurdles to overcome in order to be successful in school. He has ADHD as well as an anxiety disorder and we're probably going to receive a dx of sensory processing in the coming months. (all signs are there, waiting for the official eval). Those are some of the reasons that traditional schooling just isn't working.

So we're 'home' schooling. I'm a full time student myself, and a single parent to boot. He made the request to do online learning and the more I looked, the more I realized that this will be perfect for parts of our 'home' schooling and we'll do field trips, projects and real life learning as well. I'm really excited to get under way! Like I said, he's a bright kid and I love watching him learn (does that make sense?) because he's so passionate about it, and the school was squashing that so no more!

I've read the getting started info, and am wondering what the best approach is for the mid-year start? The public school 2nd quarter ends Thursday (his last day) so he 'should' be halfway through 4th grade right now. He loves to read so I wouldn't be surprised to see him working at a higher level in LA.

What are some common ways to cover the 'extras' like art, music, health, foreign languages (not required here but he wants to learn!)? If there's a thread covering this, I'd love a point in the right direction!