New & 1st Grade Math ?
    crazykymom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New & 1st Grade Math ?

Hi Everyone! Newbie here. Been HS for about a year. Son is 7-1st grade. We have only been using T4L about a month. My guy has some challenges for school (ADHD, a few other ABC's. lol). Anyways...T4L has been great so far. He asks to do more work every night before bed. My question involves the math. He had been doing great, but now...things are a little harder for him. He seems confused by their different methods of teaching double digit addition. He's totally lost. lol I'm not sure what to do....is there something I can supplement with? Should I take him back to K level? What should I do?? I don't want to keep pushing forward endlessly when I know he needs more help. I DO sit with him through every lesson and we do problems on our chalkboard desktop as the lesson is going. I'm not sure that's enough. Any thoughts or advice? He is advanced in every other subject. Thanks!
    Pam

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Are you using the worksheets? I found them essential for my kids with math.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

Yes I am. He's still struggling. I did find some other worksheets from a random math book I have here. I guess I will try those too.

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

My kids have picked up some concepts easily, and struggled with others. When we get to something they find difficult, I do just as you are doing: stop and practice before moving on. That's hard to do if you put a lot of effort into your lesson plans and your child isn't learning according to your schedule, but it's one of the great things about homeschooling.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

Brook Simmons is offline Senior Member