NEWBIE here and I've got a (dumb) question...ha ha
    Jamelle is offline Junior Member

Default NEWBIE here and I've got a (dumb) question...ha ha

Maybe a dumb question.....LOL...but here goes!!!

My daughter started home schooling after Christmas break this past year. She was in a wonderful Christian Academy, but because of stress issues and separation anxiety we felt like she needed to come home.

The school was using Abeka curriculum-so we immediately purchased the complete curriculum to continue with her (1st grade). HOWEVER--it just seemed soooooo boring everyday...ha ha

I originally went online to find something to "add" to her school--to make it more exciting and fun. After finding T4L and using it for a week-we have decided to use this as her main curriculum for Math and Language Arts. MY QUESTION IS.....when I signed her up---I signed her up for 2nd grade (just to see how she'd do). Now, I know that we could go back and change that at any time---but if she is doing okay with 2nd grade--should I just leave it alone?? My husband thinks that she will miss something on the assessment tests since we had about 3 months left on the first grade material. I seem to think that MAYBE that's why she was bored and that she should be fine.

Any suggestions or advice is appreciated.

Thanks!
    Jamelle

Yca
    Yca is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

welcome jamelle!! so glad to hear that you and your daughter are enjoying t4l!

the first thing that you and your husband need to remember is that each and every curricula move at their own pace. what seems "appropriate 2nd grade material" for one is deemed "appropriate 4th" for another. while there are basic markings that are somewhat universal, you have to take into account that there are just different schools of thought on how children should be taught.