Newbie - Introduction and Question
    Lego Mom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Newbie - Introduction and Question

Hi! I am a newbie to homeschooling and T4L. I am using T4L for our language arts and math curriculum. My son, Josiah, enjoys learning on the computer. He is more of an introvert than extrovert so having part of his learning be self-paced and individual suits him quite well. He does have a couple of learning differences - severe ADHD and CAPD (central auditory processing disorder) but is also quite gifted underneath those issues.

I did a lot of research before starting our homeschooling journey and came across T4L. I was very impressed with the format and the multisensory approach to learning. I have not been disappointed. Josiah absolutely loves the language arts lessons.

Now for my question, although Josiah is gifted in math he does not enjoy or like it. I have found the math curriculum to be quite good - blending relevancy with repetition through different approaches to the same topic. Any ideas on supplementing or how to make it more enjoyable for him? Or do you have areas where it is simply learning how to buckle down and do something you do not enjoy as a life lesson? Or is it a balance of both?

Thanks!

Lego Mom (aka Karen)
    Lego Mom (aka Karen)

witchly is offline Senior Member Guru

Default Math - relate to what they like

With my son, I always try to relate math to whatever he is interested in at the time. A simple example would be if your child really likes cars, make up math problems with cars (or re-word math problems to use cars).

When my son was younger he would just feel "stuck" looking at a worksheet of plain math equations, but if we took that problem and related it to cars then it made sense to him and he would quickly solve them all. As he has gotten older we have just changed to whatever his current interests are and it still works. It also has really helped him understand how we use math in daily life.
    Robyn