Planning our usage and other lessons
    starfan is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Planning our usage and other lessons

Hi, I'm new to T4L, we just started two weeks ago and already the kids love it and beg to do it. My son is 8 and my daughter is 6 and they both love computers and games anyway, so this was really a perfect fit for them both. We have been eclectic homeschoolers, using mostly books and workbooks from various sources and a little of "make it on your own" along the way. I have a few questions about our usage of T4L along with our other lessons and activities.

I have been wanting to become more "unschooly" for awhile now, but I'm always afraid we will "miss" something. We became more and more relaxed over the past couple of years (this is our third year HS'ing) but I never reached the point I could really let go of the curriculum and we still spent a lot of time doing paper and book work. My kids get kind of frustrated with that. Anyway, after using T4L for a couple of weeks I can see what a great program it is, and it really seems very comprehensive. I am considering dropping most of the other paper/book work in favor of using T4L for the four main core subjects, with the printable resource pages. I would like to keep our spelling program and our handwriting program, at least until they have the basic lines mastered (this is the first year of cursive for my son and daughter is still learning to write neatly also). I also have a creative writing program I would like to use with my son (in addition to the writing that T4L resources offer), and I have some fun project books for science and history that I would like to do more as fun activities and not in the sense of "we are doing a science lesson now", if that makes sense. We also have art, music, physical activity and of course reading that we would do together as a family.