New to online Homeschool
    MamaTeacher Guest

Default New to online Homeschool

My name is Michelle and I have been homeschooling my 12 yr old for 1 and 1/2 yrs now. My biggest concern is that I am really unfamiliar with this whole online curriculum...I am used to simply having books with worksheets to complete...My son finished several sections today in a very short time...I am used to it normally taking him several hours to complete his work so I am curious if I'm doing something wrong?...Can anyone give me just a bit of assistance on this?

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

The good news is that you are probably doing everything right. Time4Learning is designed to be interactive and engaging, and kids generally love to use it. Because of this there is less of the time wasting. I know if my daughter (11 yrs old, 4 years homeschooling) had to use workbook pages we would never get any school done, because she would waste too much time. The easiest way for me to tell if my daughter is on track is to work this equation for each subject:
    1. Figure out how many lessons each subject has.
    2. Figure out how many school days are in your school year.
    3.Then divide the number of lessons by the number of school days and you will get the number of how many lessons per day in a subject he should do.
    For most subjects it works out to less than 7 per week, which means only a couple per subject per day.

The other thing to check is that within lessons sometimes there are written assignments. I know that if I don't actively enforce the fact that those assignments within a lesson are done, that my daughter will skip though the lesson and not put the outside work into it. For science, that might mean she was supposed to do an experiment or for language arts, she might have needed to write a paragraph,or something like that.
    So, just check and make sure if there was an outside assignment and you want him to do the additional work, that he is doing it.