what is the state requirement
    Unregistered Guest

Smile what is the state requirement

how many hours a day do they have to do school work how many in a semister i am new to home schooling my sons first day is tomorrow he is in 8th grade.

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

Hi!
    Welcome to Time4Learning. Here is the inforation I can give you regarding homeschooling in Missouri.
    1. a)1000 hours of instruction, in a school year.
    b)600 hours of these hours must be in the 5 core subjects.
    c)400 hours of the 600 hours must take place at the "regular homeschool location".
    2. You must meet those requirements within a 12 month or less period.
    3. The core subjects are Reading, math, socal studies, language arts, and science.

Additionally:
    1. You must keep a record or log of daily activities that are counted toward the 1000 hours,
    2. AND, you must keep a portfolio of the students work
    3. AND, you must have records of appropriate evaluations...

You must keep these records (this will be your defense if your son is ever brought up on truancy charges, or other investigations BUT unless requested, you do not have to present them or turn them in to anyone.

Finally, you may, "For the purpose of minimizing unnecessary investigations" provide to the recorder of deeds of the county your child lives in, or the chief public school officer, a written declaration of your intent to homeschool withing 30 days of starting homeschool and on September 1st every year thereafter.
    According to HSLDA, the filing is completely optional, may compromise your privacy (because thi info is open to the public) and may "occasionally cause a family to be investigated"...

I take this to mean...keep good records, and stay below the radar. However, if yo do not file a letter with the school, you might get on the radar by your child racking up absences (though he will actually not be absent because he is in homschool).