who do we show/turn in our records to?
    Shawniegore Guest

Question who do we show/turn in our records to?

Mo law states that we "must maintain the following records: written record indicating the subjects taught and the activities engaged in with the student, A portfolio containing samples of the student's academic work, and a record of evaluation of the student's academic progress. My question is, who do we show these records to? Who does the evaluations? When do evaluations occur?

I am new to the HS scene. I have a son who will be going into 4th grade this year, and has Autism. He is very 'high functioning', but school has always been rough for him. He always made straight A's, but it was the social and stimulus overload that really does not work well for him. For us, HS really is the better option. Mo's laws seem pretty easy, I just need some additional info to get us started.

Thanks in advance for all of your help.

Shawnie - Kansas City, MO (clay county)

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

I have to tell you honestly that I can not find out who does the evaluation, or where you submit your records. From everything that I have read (I do not reside in Missouri, myself, and I cannot give you legal advice) it says that you must keep the records, and the written records are proof necessary in case of prosecution. I cannot find where you must submit these to the school board, or other governing authority. I would suggest to be on the safe side, that you contact the board of education and ask the question as to where to submit, point blank.
    I'm so sorry that I was not able to give you a more concrete answer.
    Anybody have an answer for Shawnie??

Homeschooling sounds like a great choice for you and your son, please let us know how things go...
    Happy homeschooling!
    Linda
    Homeschooling one for 8 years and counting!

Robin is offline Senior Member