I have 4 children (girl 4 months, girl almost 8, girl 11, girl almost 12), and am homeschooling the oldest girl and will be homeschooling the youngest 2.

I did my own assessment on my oldest child who will be in 7th grade (2104-2015) according to the public school she was in.

In my assessment (I had help from a relative who is a teacher) she placed all over the charts. Her math is a poor 5th grade level, her literature is an outstanding 9th grade level, her writing and grammar are a 6th grade level, and the rest placed her at the end of 7th grade.

I guess what I'm asking is "Is this ok?" I've altered the materials to suit her needs (upped her level to keep her interested when she would normally be bored, lowered her level because she was simply lost of some basic skills, specifically math).

"What 'grade' is she in??"

I'm new at this, and think what I'm doing is working, but I'm still nervous that I'm doing it wrong. Is this how it is supposed to be? If so, this could have saved a lot of stress while she attended public school.

Also, I didn't buy a set curriculum. I just picked through what I reviewed and selected materials that I think suit her needs and keep it well-rounded. We are doing trimesters instead of semesters because holiday time works better for us this way, yet still corresponds to some public school holiday vacations and I can issue "report cards" to her un-involved father (court mandates report cards/ grade reports including the grade she is in)

For reference the courses and texts I chose are listed below (she seems to love it, except math) all required core classes are included in this list:

SCIENCE: Joy Hakim series Aristotle, Newton, Einstein, she's using Aristotle first
4-5 days per week

MATH: Essential Mathematics for life series Books 1-8, she's starting in book 5; I'm not sure if this is working as I anticipated. She is still struggling a lot, as in still failing basic concepts.
Any ideas on math??
daily 5-7 days per week