How to put in grades for high school 9th grade

Default How to put in grades for high school 9th grade

This is my first year homeschooling my 9th grade son. He has been doing his work consistently and getting average/great grades, but I don't know how to grade and have Time4Learning accept the grade on his odyssey writing assignments. Also, I don't know where I can put in what grades mean what percent of his grades. Example: Chapter tests figuring 50% of his total grade, quizes 10% of grade, homework 10%, etc. PLEASE anyone, can you help me! I keep reading the "how to" links and following their directions BUT nothing is working! Thanks.

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi! The curriculum provided by Time4Learning was developed to be used in public schools. Since the Odyssey Writer grading function was designed to be used in classrooms, parents must print and manually grade these assignments for their own children.

Your son should first click the little icon on the tab at the bottom of where he does his "writing" (typing). That pastes the instructions into the assignment, so you will know what the assignment was when you grade it. When he is finished with the assignment, he should click the "Hand In" icon at the top of the page and randomly select a fictitious teacher. This doesn't actually hand the paper in to anyone. It just causes it to be marked as complete and to appear in his reports as a link. When you view his reports and notice an Odyssey Writer link, you can click on that, print, and grade it manually. Or, some parents choose to just view the writing assignments online and discuss them with their student, since you can't input a grade for them and a writing grade is somewhat subjective, anyway.

For high school, there are detailed grading guides for each writing assignment. You can access these in the lesson plans within your parent login.