Brand new and scared to death
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mosinee2

Thread: Brand new and scared to death

Default Brand new and scared to death

Hi! I'm brand new to home schooling and scared to death. We made the decision to home school after the local school failed miserably by "forgetting" to implement my son's IEP. Honestly, why did I sit through countless meetings and have my son go through test after test to be given an IEP then have the school "forget" to implement it? The final straw was when I received a phone call from one of his teachers about an incident in class. When I asked if the teacher had utilized the protocols in my sons IEP he asked, "Thomas has an IEP? When did he get that done?" Mind you, this was nearly at the end of the school year.
    Anyway, I never thought that I was qualified to teach my children. I have a degree but not in education. Now, I have no choice but to take steps to ensure that my son is given a fighting chance. I'm scared. Honestly frightened that I will miss something or somehow hurt his chances at ever going to university. I'm sure I'm not the only one who has felt this way and I see so many incredible success stories. Somehow, the butterflies don't seem to be reading the same posts...

I'm here in NC, waiting for the cool weather to come and preparing for this newest challenge. Any help and advice would be so tremendously appreciated.
    ~Sharon

Quote Originally Posted by PinupMom View Post