Fairly New

Thread: Fairly New

Talking Fairly New

Hi, I've been a member of T4L for close to a month now. I LOVE this curriculum. I have an 8 yr. old, 7 yr. old & 2 yr. old (all boys). I'm in my 3rd year of homeschooling. The first year was great! The second year was a mess! I put a lot of time & effort into putting together my own curriculum for my children (both in 2nd grade). Our days began to get longer and longer and after careful consideration and looking into our financial matters a little closer, my DH & I were able to enroll our children into this program. So far it's been a delight! There have been some situations where I've had to come up with other activities to help the material stick. But I love the fact that we can repeat the lessons as many times as necessary.

I decided to homeschool a few years ago because when my oldest was in Kindergarten (public school) homework had become a real chore and very time consuming. My child cried, I cried and my husband came home to try to help from his perspective...he was frustrated. I kept asking his teachers if certain things were normal and they kept saying it was but I had doubt so I began having him tested. BINGO...I was right! He has a learning disability and his teachers were missing it! On top of that he was being bullied by a group of children in his classroom. All these things made my decision easier. I let him finish out the school year and began teaching them at home.