Hello everyone! couple questions...
    J&Zmommy05 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Hello everyone! couple questions...

Hey there! I'm new to the program. I have a seven year old daughter that just started this week. She is all about computer games so I figured she would do well with this site's program. I'm also new to homeschooling in general. We had a great first week! I do have a few questions for yall out there though. First how do I know how much work should be done in a day/week. My daughter completed all of chapter one in math and LA this week and soared through several science and s.s. activities. Would that be considered a lot or not enough? I've been having her work for about 2-3 hours a day on T4L then we move on to a book based mini unit study. I just need help figuring out if I'm pacing her right. Also is there any way on here we can review for tests ahead of time? Like worksheets or anything? Thanks so much and I Look forward to a great first year!
    Rebecca

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Hello and Welcome, Rebecca!

Since you are new to homeschooling, this free e-book might be helpful. It was written by veteran homeschoolers just for new homeschoolers. It's comprehensive without being overwhelming.

Just my own personal opinion, others might disagree, but 2-3 hours of T4L a day is quite a bit for a 7 year old, especially in one sitting. I would definitely break it up into smaller chunks. I see you are also working on a mini unit study. Are you also supplementing other things like handwriting, reading aloud, p.e. type things, art, music, spelling... If you add all of that to the 2-3 hours of T4L, the day can get quite long for a young girl. I'd hate to see burnout. Lots of homeschoolers spend about four hours a day on schooling.

Since you are in TX you have lots of freedom on how you homeschool. Be sure to stop by the Texas state forum to look around and introduce yourself.