Hello from Slower Lower Delaware
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By MamaToHerRoo
  • 2 Post By WaltzerFamily

Thread: Hello from Slower Lower Delaware

WaltzerFamily is offline Junior Member

Default Hello from Slower Lower Delaware

Hello. I am a a newbie Homeschooler. My name is Susan, I am married to Lance and we have his/hers/ours children. Most of the older children have gone through the Public School system. We have two left in High School, a freshman and a Junior. (at two different schools). We also have a 7th grader in Charter School. Our "ours" kid was in a parochial Pre K last year that unfortunately shut their doors after educating many generations of children. Another branch will be opening in our area next fall, but we were left with finding an appropriate Kindergarten for our son, Aiden. He is too young for the Public Schools, but we did have him tested, and he qualified for early admittance. After finding out that there would be around 30 kids in any class at our local school, we decided that home school was our best option for this year.

We do plan to send him back to parochial school next year, barring unforeseen situations. We would prefer for him NOT to attend a public school settings. We have both gifted and special needs among our other children, and the special needs kids seem to get lost, and the gifted kids are not being challenged. Even though we are calling Aiden a kindergartener, he is doing mostly 1st grade curriculum, and some 2nd. This is a scary challenge for me. I'm not worried about Aiden's ability to learn, but my ability to teach.

I would love to hear tips, tricks, insights and resources from the other parents on this board.

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

Susan,
    Welcome toTime4Learning. You would probablyqualify for being an “accidental homeschooler” as T4L calls us. It was not your intention to homeschool butcircumstances indicate it is the best choice right now.