I'm new to homeschooling!

Default I'm new to homeschooling!

Hello everyone. We just moved from Texas to Oklahoma. My husband is in the military. We will only be here for 7 months. We have an eight year old son with ADHD & Asperger's autism. We also have a four year old daughter whom I believe has ADHD as well. This first time homeschooling my children while school age. Of course I taught them before they entered school. My son wanted me to homeschool him, so I just kept my daughter home too. We have been doing it for one week and I'm overwhelmed. I owned a daycare for four years before our daughter was born, so I thought that it would be very easy for me. I am trying to give them too much to do I think. I don't want them to be behind if they go back to school. I guess I need to know how to use the lesson plans and where I should really start. Also, how I could blend the two so that the lesson plans go together. Thanks for your help in advance!

katshu2 is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi tashmia7, and welcome! I'm so sorry you're overwhelmed...I know it can be hard when you first jump in. And we all probably felt (and honestly still feel on occasion) overwhelmed. Some parents suggest a period of deschooling. Simply being at home together, getting used to everyone being there and realizing that it's not just like being in a classroom (unless of course, that's what you want/need for your homeschool). Having said that, that may not work for you if you are sure you're only going to be homeschooling temporarily. As far as using the lesson plans, the best advice I can give you is to look through this Hints and Help page. It lays out SO much about the T4L program, navigating the site, using the lesson plans, etc. Alternatively, you could just have them start at the beginning of the grade level, and do the activities in the order that T4L presents them.